PIP Insurance in Florida Covers Your Medical Expenses After a Car Crash.
PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection. It’s an insurance policy in the state of Florida that allows you to be treated regardless of who was at fault. If you’re involved in an at-fault accident, you still have access to coverage for your injuries with PIP insurance in Florida. The minimum required coverage is $10,000 of PIP insurance in Florida. In Florida, you have to have PIP Insurance to get your driver’s license. It is illegal to drive without insurance in the state of Florida.
In Florida, PIP Covers You Even If the Other Driver has no Insurance, or if the Accident is Your Fault
Let’s say you have PIP Insurance and you get in an auto accident. If you’re at fault in the accident, you have access to the PIP limits. Now, there are other types of insurance that can go above the PIP. For example, uninsured motorists and underinsured motorists insurance. These protect you when somebody hits you who doesn’t have insurance.
All drivers in Florida should have insurance, it’s the law. Unfortunately, some people will get their license, take in their copy of their insurance, then cancel the insurance.
This is not legal or right, and if they hit you, there is no insurance coverage aside from your own. If you have just PIP for $10,000 but you have $40,000 of bills, you’re in trouble. That is unless you have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Let’s go back to PIP insurance in Florida. Everybody in Florida is required to have PIP insurance. PIP insurance covers you and the occupants of your car if there is a collision. Your insurance takes care of you in the State of Florida.
At-Fault Versus Not At-Fault
If you’re at fault in an accident, insurance will pay up to the PIP limits. We strongly suggest you get more than the minimum. It may cost a few more dollars per month, but if you’re ever in an accident it can protect you from being sued by an attorney for damages outside of your PIP. Commercials will say attorneys don’t sue people. They do sue people. They’ll come after you individually as well, so don’t be fooled by the commercials from the attorneys.
On the flip side, if you’re not at fault, your insurance will pay for your injuries. They will then go after the at-fault parties to get them to pay the remaining funds. If you’re hit by somebody that has no insurance and you don’t have an uninsured motorist, then you’re getting nothing from the person who hit you.
It’s Best to Have More than the Minimum PIP Coverage
I’m sure you’ve seen billboards where someone won $1,000,000 – that’s not going to happen if they don’t have that amount of insurance coverage. These large settlements you see are of somebody hit by a commercial entity or by people who have more than minimal coverage. It’s important that you get more than the $10,000 PIP to make sure you’re well protected.
To recap, PIP insurance in Florida is coverage that gives anyone involved in accident access to $10,000 in coverage for injuries. We talked previously about how to access that $10,000. See our EMC video so you understand how to open up the funds to the full $10,000.
Overall, if you’re at fault, your insurance takes care of you up to that limit. If somebody else is at fault, their insurance will be held responsible to reimburse your insurance for the damages. Even if it goes above $10,000 in bodily injury, there are more than $10,000 limits on that person who hit you.
Document Your Injuries for PIP Insurance
If you have any questions about how the insurance works, how to file a claim, or how to document your injuries, contact Dr. Huffman at Florida Injury Medical Centers. Call (866) 402-4250, 24/7, anywhere in the State of Florida for a FREE consultation or contact us online.
Dr. Huffman can walk you through what you need to do. If you use him to document your injuries and start the claim, he’ll set you up in a HIPPA compliant, secure telemedicine connection. You can speak with him and document your injuries to ensure the insurance is aware of them. If you have an attorney, he will make sure they’re aware of them as well, and get a report off to your primary physician.
Call us from anywhere in the State of Florida, 24/7, at (866) 402-4250.